powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


21 March 2002 - 10:11 p.m.

Poop. The other white meat.

Do you know what I love about old people? They fixate on things.

Not that that's always a good thing. Like the five straigh years my grandfather was fixated on trying to take me to see the Nutcracker, even though I hate it and find it boring, and told him as much. Also, my grandmother fixated on buying me music boxes for many years. Most are still in the boxes. I wonder what they would fetch on eBay.

But about a week ago, Professor McAdvisor became fixated on having an end of semester hambake for my novel class. He's now talking about ham twice a week, and also mac and cheese for the vegetarians, and beans and rice for everyone because he cares for beans and rice a great deal.

Old people also ramble, which you probably know if you've ever spent any time with one.

So I'm getting pretty hungry for ham, and the shindig isn't till May. Leave it to a novelist to build up the suspense. To quote PMcA himself, "This (ham) better be goddam good!"

Speaking of ham, it's occured to me that I don't know what my new pet fly, Chilly, is eating. I hope he is not eating my food, and have been extra careful to put any leftovers in the fridge right away.

It occurs to me that he might be eating cat poop, since flies often eat dog poop.

I don't know if I am grossed out or relieved by this. I mean, cat poop is free, and I certainly wasn't about to dig into the litterbox. On the other hand, having one pet that lives off the other pet's waste makes me feel like I should just join a circus or open a wax museum and get all the freakiness over with in one fell swoop.

I swear, raising children is going to be so much easier... not that strained peas are that much less sketch than old cat poop.

Sigh.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com