powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


30 May 2002 - 10:57 p.m.

Why spend hundred on generic white tile when you can spend thousands on THE SAME WHITE TILE?

Let's talk for a moment about excess.

$25,000 is not a "tight budget" when it comes to remodeling a bathroom. As far as I'm concerned, $25,000 is not a tight budget when it comes to trying to live for a year.

Grrr.

The thing is, I don't even really dislike me new and impoverished state. I feel a lot more free and happy than I did last year at this time, when I was working in an office job and trying to pull my way out of debt. Not credit card debt, mind you, but negative balance at the bank debt. I just dislike the woman on Designer's Challenge who claimed that $25,000 was not much to remodel a bathroom, and tried to get them to pay more so that she could add a second sink. I dislike the fact that there are people with so much money, who don't feel like it's enough.

I'm not going to get up on a soapbox here, because I'd be pretty damned dishonest if I said I wouldn't feel better about my situation if I had $25,000 to renovate my bathroom, or if I were an interior desinger to the celebrities and had the clout and/or gall to command that kind of price. But since I'm not, I'm just indulging in a full-blown eat the rich moment.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com