powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


22 May 2002 - 3:23 p.m.

"Does my little pudding feel a pang?"

I'm feeling much better today, mainly as a result of having seen a good movie, or as my little cousin would say. moozie. Prof. McFilmProf was wrong, Smiles of a Summer Night (sorry, there was no way I was even attempting that in Swedish) is a good moozie. And, interestingly enough, though I don't even have enough characters on my keyboard to tell you what the actual title is, I could sew it for you thanks to the many alphabet variations on my brand-new Swedish sewing machine. I love craft irony.

I went to the video collection today because I'm trying to take advantage of the conucopia of free fun and free education that is my school library. Last year, I only really took advantage of the free books to read trash like Peyton Place, but then, last year, I was fucking miserable. If you've never worked as a full time secretary, you can check out my first 30 or so entries to see what I mean. Granted, they're boring as hell, but you would be, too, if you sat in an office without windows all day. This year, I plan to be like a little Highlights poster lady: Fun with a purpose? Hellz yeah!

Of course, instead of becoming more well-rounded, maybe I'm just becoming pretentious. By the end of this week, I'll have much more to say about French New-Wave cinema, and Bergman, of course, and that can't be a good thing for the nice, down-to-earth people with whom I converse on a regular basis. But there seems to be a fine line between well-roundedness and pretentious, unless, of course, there is no line, and no difference at all. Maybe pretentious people like to call themselves well-rounded, and poorly-rounded people like to call well-rounded people pretentious. I could go on a tangent about the subjectivity of language, but all these different connotations may well be preventing some kind of war between the watchers of foreign film and the readers of Peyton Place, so I won't complain at all.

Also, when I was walking back from the video library, it occurred to me that, even though it was 2 pm on a Tuesday, I could do whatever I wanted, unlike the poor folks at work or in the computer class that they were about to teach in the library. The only thing I really coudn't do was play Neopets on a library computer, because the class was about to start. Oh, well. If that is the price I have to pay for almost total freedom, I think I can swing it.

What I did do when I came back was have tea, since I had done without caffeine all day. I could try to kick my caffeine habit this summer. but it seems like it's only a dangerous thing when I'm consuming 3-5 cups of coffee between the hours of 9 and 5, and since I was able to be fairly productive today from 9 until 2 with just some fruit salad to keep me perky, I guess I'm not much of an addict.

Granted, it takes an exceedingly mellow person to write an entry this lame.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com