powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


22 May 2002 - 2:08 p.m.

Big (Library) Brother is Watching

Who in hell thought it would be a good idea to network all the libraries in Pittsburgh?

I went to apply for a library card today, only to find that I owed $25 to a library near home for a lost book.

I don't actually recall ever signing out a book at said library, let alone losing one. Yet, I can't get a card until I pay the fine, which I have to do by contacting the library 20 miles away.

Is it me, or does it seem like if a fine at one library is going to prohibit me from getting a card at another library, I should be able to pay that fine at said another library?

That is assuming that I wish to pay the fine, which I don't. However, this means that I will have to get someone ever so sweet and nice and helpful to get a card, which is not a big deal, although the whole point of me getting the card was to use my copious spare time to check out free videos.

I don't really remember what the deal is with library cards. If Gus gets one, can I pretend to be his wife and just use it? Will anyone know/care that my name is not Gus?

Screw it. I am off to write to Jess, who is clearly having a worse time of things than I am, if you can believe it, even in spite of my library fines.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com