powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


5 July 2002 - 6:51 p.m.

Rings you don't need a Gold Membership to design.

Well, Hatbox should be on the road to Wellville after her looong trip to the vet today while I was at work. Her doting dad was good enough to drive her there, wait with her for some four hours, and keep her calm whilst she was being poked, prodded, butt-thermometered and injected with a large bubble of fluid that would dwarf Quasimodo's. But as long as she is getting better, I promise not to point and laugh.Yesterday, I was proud to be an American, where at least I knew I was free from camp for a whole day. Not that camp is all that bad, though my "How to Write Limericks and Clarihews" lesson and my numerous volumes of Dr. Seuss weren't nearly as well-recieved as I had expected. I guess everyone was feeling a little unruly after a full day of festivities. Who would have thought that young children would find poetry less enthralling than pyrotechnics? For any of you who are concerned about your offspring, know this: I have no intention of teaching at the elementary level beyond this summer. I plan to leave it to those who know what they are doing, Not that there aren't good things about camp. I think I taught a few non-native speakers of English some new words today, and most of the kids seem to like me okay. I get a free donut almost every day and I can ogle my boss' engagement ring all I want. I hate to give the diamond industry any credit, because mining is exploitative and I think the advertising is dumb (diamonds are NOT an aphrodesiac) but in some ways I am quite like a kitten, and attracted to shiny things. Also, it's unusual for me to see anyone wearing a ring I really like. The vast majority of women choose/wear round stones, which just don't do anything for me, and small round stones look far more pathetic than modest daimonds of other cuts. I am much more a fan of square or rectangular stones, like my boss' emerald-cut solitaire, which is somewhat like the ring in the bottom right corner of my "A Diamond is Friggn' Forever or Whatever" jewelry box, and which is, incidentally, my favorite.Granted, my boss' ring is a fraction of the size of what DeBeer's would have us think is necessary, but it still looks great. It just has such neat clean lines. Sorry if that was a dumb tangent, and I'm sorry to have revealed the fact that I have a jewelry box at the stupid diamond website, but, you know, I guess I've gotten too far to delete this entry now. Besides, in the event that any of you ever want to get married, at least you'll know what I'm into. Besides Chococat.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com