powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


30 April 2003 - 10:25 a.m.

"You're only burning a torch you cna lose, but you're on the right track to learning the blues."

Is there any way to drive on a sunny day that does not involve "Come Fly with Me?" I don't know what I was thinking, because wheels are where it's at.

Speaking of music, I've spent most of my life listening to Frankie S., which means if you haven't signed my guestbook with your votes for the best booty-shaking music, you're just no help at all.

And then there are contests. In the words of Eye "Bob" Em, they suck, they don't mean anything, and they do nothing but breed jealousy.

True. True. And so very true.

The thing is, when people whose egos don't need a boost win things, it's not unfair by any means, but it makes me think, "Karma, where in the fucking hell are you?"

I didn't submit to either contest, by the way, but i'm still jealous on behalf of my friends who actually care about the genres in which they work, and who are too honorable to turn in the same story for three different classes, or put already-published work into their thesis.

I vented all of this to Eye "Bob" Em, who insisted that I catch him up on all the gossip and arrow-slinging that made the recpetion all kinds of fun yesterday. He said I had myself a point, but that none of that stuff mattered in a contest, and so contests shouldn't matter. He also said he had been eying a James Brown CD and might go out and buy it for the dance party.

Note to future professors: when all else fails, cheer your students up with classic R&B.

Speaking of cheering up, if someone tells you you're so beautiful, and it's in complete jest, it's not necessarily a lie, right? Because even if it's only a fraction of a compliment, I think I need it right now.

Now I know why i couldn't write this entry yesterday. It's because Wednesday is Maudlin Day! Yay!

But here is someting. You know your fellow students love you when they make a point of finding you to tell you there is bacon somewhere on the buffet. Granted, this example only really applies to you if you are me and your favorite food is bacon. But dude! When someone who you never thought would like anybody, let alone your perky Yankee ass, goes out of his way to pass on the pork info, this much will occur to you: love may, in fact, keep us together for the next week and a half.

Oh, here's a good question: does academic regalia turn anyone else on?

Anyone?


What I'm wearing: Still jammies.

What I'm reading: Lawnmower outside.

What I'm doing after this: Getting dressed, I hope.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com