powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


3 February 2002 - 3:51 p.m.

Viva Las Punxy!

Gobblers' Knob, gonna set my soul, gonna set my sould on fire..

We did it. We went to Punxsutawney, and witnessed perhaps the most bizarre ritual to be found in all of Western Pennsylvania, on the dawning of the Philennium, 02.02.02. And it was just so cool in that completely dorky way. I don't even care that Phil saw his shadow. Do you know how friggin' cute groundhogs are? Plus, we're enjoying the most April-like winter I can remember. Six more weeks of this? Bring it on!

The only thing is, I've felt hungover for more than 24 hours now, and in that time I've had exactly one-third of a Yuengling.

But I have this new appreciation for Pennsylvania. Yes, it's still a crap state, other than Pittsburgh and Philadelphia, but in a fun way. I just can't believe how many small towns around here thrive on some stupid gimmick. There were 35000 people on the Knob yesterday, awaiting Phil's prognostication. Punxsutawney is a number of things, but it is NOT equipped to accomodate 35,000 people.

The nice thing about this stupid holiday - and it is a very stupid holiday - is that everyone realizes just how dumb it is. And I like humor that is self-aware. I don't know why people think small-town folk are simpletons. Maybe we just infer it because they make a big deal about ridiculous holidays. But what the hell else are they going to do? Taking photographs of the YMCA has to have gotten old by now. (It is my opinion that the Punxsutawney YMCA is the most attractive in Pennsylvania. I kid you not, this building is gorgeous.)

Just down the road is Indiana PA. birthplace of your favorite and mine, Mr. James Stewart. But saying this is a stupid gimmick for a town would just be posing on my part, because I have been to Indiana PA for the express purpose of visiting the Jimmy Stewart Museum on the third floor of the Indiana Public Library, and, really, the place has nothing on Disney World. I mean, they have Jimmy Stewart's pants there! Back me up if you have ever seen a pair - there is just nothing like checking out Jimmy Stewart's pants. It is quite the unforgettable experience. And they sell the greatest souvenier in the history of the world: the Harvey mug. At first glance, it looks like a normal mug with a lamppost on it. Add a hot beverage and POW - there's Harvey leaning against the very same post. I defy you to show me a better mug. Be warned, a Harvey mug wrapped up in a pair of Jimmy Stewart's pants, though certainly a sight to behold, would not qualify. I'm talking self-contained pottery, here.

Anyway, the cult surrounding Groundhog Day, disturbing as it is, provided an enjoyable experience, including a firework display and a shoutout to CoMputer U. We also procured $5 sweatshirts in the McDonald's parking lot. It's so great that there are holidays in which being ghetto is a good thing.

And when the whole thing was over, they played "Me and My Shadow."

It doesn't take a lot to please me. Me and all the old ladies who were singing along.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com