powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


14 March 2002 - 9:31 p.m.

In which Jenn weighs the pros and cons of partying with her profs.

Well.

I am invited to a party tomorrow night at the home of one of my professors, in honor of this super smart guy who gave a guest lecture today. The professor who was mainly responsible for the fact that I am one of a dozen students getting a big ol' fellowship to help me afford my graduate education. And even though I always feel like a dork at such functions, and can never come up with cool things to say to all the intellectuals hanging around, I feel like some hard core sucking up is in order.

Some other factors to consider:

Prof. McHotHot may be in attendance. The same Professor McHotHot who, as Gus pointed out, while sauntering out of the fun reception we had after the lecture, sauntered a good 4 feet away from his girlfriend in my direction to deliver a "So long, Jennifer," even when a wave really would have done the job.

Alcohol may also be in attendance. The same alcohol which causes me to type using too many F's and think it would be a good idea to tongue anyone who will stand still long enough.

I am supposed to babysit tomorrow night, but, as it turns out, Richard Dreyfuss will only be out from 6 to 8. Which means that after fixing a little dinner for SORD, (son of Richard Dreyfuss) I, too may be in attendance.

How ugly can all this get? Because as much as I would love to chitchat with Mr. Smart Guest-Lecture Guy and all the effing amazing profs who are like totally stoked about me being in the MA program, I also need to think about just locking myself in my apartment and finishing off the rum I have here. And maybe watching some bad movies I have no desire to discuss with anyone.

Fuck it. Who am I kidding? I am going. But seriously, how ugly can this get?

More importantly, what am I going to wear?


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com