powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


25 February 2002 - 11:04 p.m.

What's Bigger: My Ego or My Fear of Public Speaking?

Today my confidence in my own brilliance was severely tested, thanks to this. Or maybe my eyesight is more pathetic than I thought.

My massive ego was, thankfully, restored when I got an email from Prof. McFilmProf, urging me to present my paper on The Philadelphia Story and High Society at this undergraduate research symposium we have here.

Okay.

I don't really like public speaking. I do like acting, but that's different. Acting you get to do with other people. And your audience is in the dark. Presentations just seem so much more artificial. Or maybe I've spent my whole life being way too lazy to rehearse my presentations, and so they seem stilted and bad. Hmm.

The thing is, if I present my paper, it will be "published." And in the English world, Published = Good. In the math world, G+o+o+d = Good. Or is it 2Xo+G+d = Good?

When I was in fifth grade, my teacher used to say that math was reading. That did not make me like math more. In fact, it almost made me dislike reading. But, you know, I was 10. I was old and set in my ways by then. Well, sort of. I did like Top 40 Radio, which I despise now.

Top+10+10+10+10+Radio = Top 40 Radio. Or should I just say 4X10+Top+Radio = Top 40 Radio?

I could do this all night, but I'm beginning to feel that this entry has already outlived its cleverness.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com