powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


18 February 2003 - 8:20 p.m.

Monkey shines and tomfoolery!

If you want to laugh out loud, you should look up "shenanigans" in the thesaurus. Because, you know, if shenanigans is too cheesy a word for me to use in an essay, "monkey shines," "tomfoolery," and "high jinx" are perfect substitutes.

I think my younger brother's first phase of lost innocence came when he found out that Tom Foolery was not a person. He has trouble with nouns sometimes.

I'm not that huge of a Flannery O'Connor fan, but I was so happy today when IM told us she (Flannery, IM is a dude) was known for cracking herself up in workshop. Not that I crack myself up in workshop (Are, Kay-van-Bee, J-Christ and Just j. don't exactly force one into self-amusement), but I crack myself up everywhere else, and always have.

I was so loud and annoying when I laughed at myself in my youth that my father claimed I had "outbursts." But he said it with a sense of fun, as evidenced by the fact that he started calling them "ob's" when I reached menstruating age.

Shucks.

Do you know what is rad? Yesterday I decided I would add stuff to my Amazon wishlist, not really because I expect gifts any time soon, but because I'm always poking aroudn that shit and wanted to remind myself to buy a couple of things when I can afford them. So if you check out my wishlist, please don't buy me a Panasonic pore cleanser. I want one, but I'll just take care of that myself.

Well, one of the things I put on it was Jaques Tourner: The Cinema of Nightfall (I didn't bother linking, because nobody here gives a fuck about Jaques Tourneur), because it seems interesting/useful for my dissertation if I decide I want to write a book on Val.

Them today, I got a package from Amazon, and I thought "Sa-weet! I bet its Isle of the Dead and Curse of the Cat People!" (Which seemed odd, because they haven't shipped yet, but, you know, Amazon can be crazy efficient sometimes.)

But what is was was the Jaques Tourner book from Gus! He (Gus, not Jaques Tourneur) totally guessed that I might like it and ordered it before Valentine's Day. Wow! It's like we have a cosmic Jaques Tourneur connection. Which is like the lames kind of connec- oh, fuck it all, I got a new book!

You! I'm buying you a pizza.


What I'm wearing: White sweater, beige cardigan, and pants. Pretty straightforward ol' pants.

What I'm reading: Me cracking myself up.

What I'm doing after this: Finishing my workshop submission for this week (I hope!)


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com