powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


17 February 2003 - 11:18 a.m.

Letting it snow.

I think I have read this in every diary today, but I'm having my first snow day since high school! Never mind Gus almost died in it! I get today off!

I know I'm always rhapsodizing and/or condemning Kazaa, but last night that shit came through for me, and how! I think every film class this semester has involved Are talking about how well the Fellini films are scored, thanks to one Nino Rota. My curiosity getting the better of me, I have typed Nino Rota into Kazaa a few times, but it yielded nothing. Until last night, when I tried one last time, and an even dozen popped up. Wow! And not a moment too soon. Since there's no class today, I think I will just have to put "La Strada" on repeat and pretend I'm watching the movie.

Speaking of film class, in the spirit of The World's Most Unfair Quiz (TM), I made The World's Most Unfair AIM Quiz. You should take it. How well do you know me? Take the test!

What else? My infinitely generous mother-in-law to be sent me a gift certificate good for just about anything in the whole world! "I would have sent candy, but I thought this was healthier," she wrote. Indeed. I'm in a real love/hate relationship with my body right now, in that I love my new Jayne Mansfield cleavage and hate the new Homer Simpson spare tire that's beginning to form directly south. But better still, Amazon gift certificates are always healthy for the bank account of someone who constantly needs new books. So I was going to buy the last few volumes I need for school. But I bought Curse of the Cat People and Isle of the Dead instead.

I think the readers of this diary know enough about life and consumerism that I don't need to detail the progression of poor judgement and sheer folly that led me from point A ("Whee! Money for school books!") to point B ("Whee! Money for low-budget horror!")

But it gets worse. MILTB had been meaning to send Gus a check and me a good copy of Sallies (the first one she bought me, for Christmas, was printed upside down on half the pages, and although I thought that was awesome, she exchanged it for one right side up the whole way through.) The package came today, clearly delayed by the weather, and included not only the above items, but Valentine candy of the chocolate variety, which I presume we are to share. And this is after Gus presented me with a plethora of truffles Friday. Yikes! What happened to health? What happened to my wedding diet?

Well, I will tell you. My mom is dissatisfied with my wedding dress because the corset laces too tight and doesn't show enough of my back. (I know, I know, it's always something.) So maybe I will do the opposite of what every bride other bride does: eat like a hog for the duration of my engagement in order to look good in my dress.

Boys and girls, I think we have stumbled upon a plan.


What I'm wearing: Who gets dressed on a snow day?

What I'm reading: Pretty much the complete works of Nino Rota

What I'm doing after this: Nothing!


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com