powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


16 October 2003 - 3:54 p.m.

The five-paragraph essay: an oldie, but apparently a goodie.

1. Identify and summarize the arguments of the articles or book.

2. Describe the way the author understands a particular history and how the piece intervenes in that history.

3. What theoretical perspectives is s/he drawing on? How is this helpful or not? Is the author him/herself articulating a theoretical model? What is it?

4. What is important about the specific examples, texts, or set of resources the author analyzes/uses to make the point?

5. Integrate these discussions through a critical perspective. This would be the "response" element of the paper where you bring your interests to bear. What in the text provoked you to thought, how, why? If necessary, use the introductory discussion on the syllabus as a guide.

6. Incorporate at least one quotation/example that illustrates one or more of the above points.

7. Relate the piece(s) to another source we have read in class.

8. List critical questions you would pose to the class for discussion both based on your analysis and on the texts generally.

I know this can't be busy work, because it was assigned to grad students, all of whom should be able to be trusted to write a paper, no?

No, apparently not.

But I'm really glad a whopping eighth of what I have due tomorrow gets to include my perspectives. Otherwise, I might feel like those six articles weren't important to my education at all.

On the bright side, today means there are only seven months left till graduation.


What I'm wearing: Pink top, navy sweatpants.

What I'm reading: The minutes of my youth ticking away while I work on junior high crap.

What I'm doing after this: Telling my mom to hide all the sharp objects and rope.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com