powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


20 October 2003 - 10:02 p.m.

"The city planner, the scanner, the guy who wrote Dune..."

Friday I got up early. And for those of you who didn't think I was admitting defeat by saying I want to be done with school for a bit? I went the whole hog and wore sweatpants to school.

I didn't expect to see anyone while turning in my paper, but I noticed when I got to Baker that Aitch's door was open, a most unprecedented situation considering the day and hour and location (Creative Writing office!) So I schlepped my unwashed ass in to see him, and was richly rewarded with biscotti and gossip about the department, the publishing industry, and the Notorious RHWD, who apparently partied pretty hard with Aitch Em a couple of weeks ago.

Seriously, I think I would agree to wear sweatpants for the rest of my days if I could just once see those two together.

After about an hour of crumbing all over the CW lounge, I caught the bus and made up new lyrics to "Elmer's Tune" in my head. Then I spent the rest of the day reading Levi-Strauss and Pierre Bourdieu, which wasn't the least fun thing ever, though not necessarily my favorite way to spend a Friday night.

Saturday Gus and I bought some shower curtain rings, ate at Chick Fil-A, and fell asleep trying to do crafts.

I must be at an all-time low when crafts don't excite me.

But my mom livened things up by taking us to Borders, where I discovered I had no cash, but did have a pen and paper with which to write down stuff to add to my Amazon wish list. Sadly, Amazon does not carry the 2004 Cinema Italiano calendar, or a decent re-ish* of Perez Prado's greatest hits. La sigh.

I don't even remember what I did yesterday. I think it involved linguistics?

It did not involve marijuana, which is ironic given the vagueness and slow clip of this whole entry.

Bah. Give me another day or two. I'll make something happen.

*Hot Dog City just ahead!


What I'm wearing: Green army dress pants, blue tank top, pink cardigan.

What I'm reading: Airplane flying over.

What I'm doing after this: Talkignt o Gus on the phone.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com