powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


26 April 2003 - 12:41 p.m.

Cat dishes and julep cups

Hatbox seems to be in a much better mood now that Gus is here. I should have added that in addition to her litter sculptures, (which she has been known to make with entirely unsoiled litter, btw) she was overturning her food dishes, dumping them out, and stacking them inside one another according to height.

So, thanks to all who left messages in my guestbook, but I can only conclude that Hatbox appears to have been playing some weird version of "House." She has since stopped, and is back to knocking stuff off tables.

Sometimes the old ways are the best ways, Hatbox.

I know I am in a much better mood now that Gus is here, and comprehensive exams are over. Although they weren't much to stress about. How did Val Lewton shape his ouvre using dreams, fears, and obsessions? How did Fellini avoid mimicking reality?

I guess those are trick questions in that the student might be tempted to answer "in every way possible" or "by making totally fucked-up and surreal movies," respectively. But no grad student will miss a chance to shine, even on a pass/fail exam.

Still, like the last time I took a three-hour written test, I am injured, if vindicated. I woke up with a pian all the way up my arm and through y shoulder, ending in a golf-ball sized knot in the right side of my neck. I am not exaggerating.

I think I'm going to head over to Michael's today, to check out some wedding crap. If you think it's sad for a grown man and woman to be totally fucking excited by floral arrangements in julep cups, don't ever plan a wedding. The marriage gods appear to smile on the detail-oriented. Seriously. Ever since we discovered a common affinity for julep cups, we could not be happier.


What I'm wearing: camel sweater, jeans

What I'm reading: not much of anything

What I'm doing after this: maybe making some pasta


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com