powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


16 March 2003 - 4:02 p.m.

Titles are the only thing I can do.

It's sort of fucked up, but the best things I've ever written were the ones that started out with just a title.

I don't know why a good title gets me so motivated. I guess knowing I have to live up to a phrase or sentence or whatever that sounds cool is the right amount of pressure to get me working hard.

The only story I ever published took its name from a recipe that I knew I wanted to write about.

For those of you who know my work, you may be shocked to read that I may try to write a poem today. I think Just J actually provided me with a title that's good enough.

I wish I'd had a title for my book a year ago. I bet it'd be done now.

I think I might have a "Title My Thesis Blind" contest. I can't really offer the winner anything other than a shout out on the acknowledgements page, if the book ever gets published. I guess I could offer to buy a copy for anyone who can actually title my thesis blind.

FYI, I told Ms. V last night that I wished I could use My Eternal Boyfriend for my book last night, but it really didn't fit. So, M, you'll just have to wait for book number two to come out.

I really hope we both live that long.


What I'm wearing: white peasanty knit shirt, gray pants

What I'm reading: Nino Rota, "Le Notti di Cabiria"

What I'm doing after this: wishing I were a better poet


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com