powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


17 March 2003 - 11:07 p.m.

Signior Fellini, why must you make your movies so damn long?

Please don't ever, ever drink a liter of water and then try to watch Giulietta degli Spiriti. Please.

Tomorrow should be an exciting day. I'll have about four hours in which to write a four-page paper.

I think my paper-writing record is two pages in 15 minutes, in Italian. Too bad the paper due tomorrow isn't on Fellini.

Speaking of Italian things, I turned in an essay to be workshopped in tutorial today, which revolves around last summer. My Dad did me a great service while I was home last year, and lived out a classic man vs. nature theme by taking very personally the antics of a groundhog he named "Fat Bastard."

Unfortunatley, a weak spot in my essay was a long beginning in which I detailed some of the fun of belonging to a wacky Italian-American family, and conveniently left out the fact that Fat Bastard was a groundhog, leading Are-Tee to assume for several pages that Fat Bastard was like, my uncle or something. Ha!

I placed a book review today. Granted, that's no large feat; all I had to do was walk down to Are's office and ask him if he wanted it for The Critic. He actually gave it the okay without reading it. Which is how all publishing should work, I think. Every journal should be run within walking distance to the grad lounge, and every editor should be so laid back.

I was going somehwere with this analogy, but then I yawned.

Twice today I was walking through the Dana parking lot, and each time, while I was in the same spot, a masculine type started whistling a tune at my back to get me to wait up for them. The first time it didn't work, because, I don't know, something like a spoken "Hey, Jenn, wait up!" tends to, you know, resonate a bit more with me. But whatever, it was someone with whom I always enjoy walking.

The second time, I was not only startled to have the exact same thing happen in the exact same space, but I was dissappointed, having turned around to expect an endearing repetition of the afternoon's meeting only to find a Hawaiian-shirted grad who wanted to talk about his French class.

Sigh. Forgive me, but it ticks me the hell off when people I think are polar opposites act in super similar ways. But let's not get into this. Because what, really, can one say about men?


What I'm wearing: Pink print circle skirt, white sleeveless blouse, gray cardigan

What I'm reading: Yawning and stomach growling

What I'm doing after this: Bed bed bed bed


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com