powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


26 October 2002 - 11:52 a.m.

Mr. and Mrs. dandtpellecchia cordially request to rock you like a hurricane at the marriage uniting jpellecchia and kprevas...

I slept in a wee bit today. That's what happens when you need 8 hours of sleep no matter what, and some websites are just too darn entertaining to stop reading before 3 am.

Also entertaining is this, from Going Bridal:

"Select the music for the ceremony including pre-ceremony seating, mothers seating, bridal party, processional, recessional and internal ceremony music. Talk groom out of using Rock You Like A Hurricaine for any of the above."

I am somehow of the "Don't Think of a Pink Elephant" school of wedding planning. Anytime someone tells me that something might be inappropriate or a bad idea, I automatically find it deeply meaningful and a great idea.

Like the time Gus and I went to the Dio/Scorpions/Deep Purple concert, and it rained buckets, and I was really pissed off because I could literally not feel my knees or anything below them, and then the Scorpions played "Rock You Like A Hurricane," and I was like, okay, I guess this is cool.

So maybe the key is not trying to talk Gus out of using RYLAH, but just going with it, and, in fact, incorporating songs from that whole show into the ceremony.

So, I figure "Holy Diver" will get people into a festive mood, so that's a good candidate for pre-ceremony seating. The bridal party can walk to RYLAH, complete with synchronized thrusts of fists/bouquets into the air on each "Here I am!" And I think I will ask a few of my more vocally talented friends to do a choral arrangement of "Hush" while we light the unity candle. Of course, the entire congregation will be encouraged to sing along to the "Na, na-na na..." part, which is the only part anybody knows anyway.

So that leaves mothers' seating, processional, and recessional. Well, Gus' mom looks kind of like Janis Joplin, so I think that's clearly the direction we ought to go in - maybe "Summertime," because my mom has a Gershwin fetish. We've already toyed with my brother playing the piano for the processional, and since the only piano piece he's really mastered is the outro from "Layla," that'll have to do. As for the recessional, well, I dunno. I'll let Gus pick, with the sneaking suspicion that it will be "Closer to the Heart" by Rush. But, you know, Rush happens.

But really, thanks to that website, I think "Rock You Like a Hurricane" is just going to have to be our entire wedding theme.

Yeah, I know it sounds tacky, but when Gus reads this, he is sure to pee his pants. And if you listen very hard, I'm sure you can hear KTT yelling "DO IT! DO IT!" all the way in West Virginia.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com