powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


8 July 2002 - 9:53 p.m.

My Big Fat Greek Dinner

"I'm supposed to marry a Greek man, make Greek babies, and feed everyone until I die." I know that statement was supposed to be a tounge-in-cheek look at how degrading some ethnicities can be to woman, but tonight I say "Bring it on."

If you are curious, I was, in fact, able to curb my fondue craving, first with work, then with a pastitsio craving.

What is this pastitsio you were craving? you may ask. Well, pastisio is a little like Greek lasagne: a beef and macaroni casserole baked in an eggy-cheesy white sauce. I don't make it as much as lasagne for a couple of reasons, namely, the two whole sticks of butter and two whole pounds of beef it requires, and the fact that I'm Italian and feel the need to represent. But if you like lasagne, I recommened finding a pastitsio recipe and trying it out, like, yesterday.

Pastitsio is even worth the smell, and I do not refer to a bad smell. Imagine a really mouth-watering, savory smell. Now account for the fact that even though pastitsio is a savory dish, it includes the spices cinnamon and nutmeg. If you don't think a yummy beef casserole smell and an apple pie smell emanating from one 13 x 11 inch pan sounds appetizing, next time, you can sit in a small apartment for nearly an hour while the pastisio bubbles and bakes and try not to chew your arm off while I take a nice long walk.

I felt sort of bad craving food all day, when there are people trying to diet and fight food cravings all the time, not to mention actual starving people. Howver, I have an easy solution to both.

1. People who are dieting should stop. There is fondue and pastitsio to be had!

2. If you ever become friends with a starving person, give me a few days notice, and I will have them over for fondue or send over a pastitsio. Because we are united in cravings, my friends. United in cravings.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com