powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


12 November 2003 - 9:48 p.m.

Jerry Orbach's Modern Dance Company

Last night, at the request of Mr. Kotter, we watched Dirty Dancing. He had never seen it and wanted to know what was up.

Also, we had a free movie rental for Blockbuster that was about to expire, and he vetoed my suggestion of Tootsie. Go fig.

Unfortunately, Gus wasn't quite so immune to the cheese as I was. Dirty Dancing, with all its merits, isn't quite the experience now that it was back when Patrick Swayze and Jennifer Grey were still cool.

Nowadays, Baby's sympathy is diminshed by the fact that kids today are only interested in stud-papaya Jerry Orbach. I mean, yeah, her idealistic, JFK-era politics are pretty special, but in an age where Law and Order is king, even the most bleeding-heart liberal screams "oh no you di'int!" when Baby stands up to Lenny Briscoe.

I think this is a good thing. Not the part about young people not being able to relate to liberals. The part about old people being cooler than their kids.

Aptly enough: Joel Grey is cooler than his daughter. He also co-starred with JO.

Maybe Jennifer Grey is the Lambda Factor here.

Or maybe Jerry Orbach is just the shit. I predict that when J-Lo has faded into oblivion, a whole new generation of fans will still be lauding one J-Oh.

Wise ass.


What I'm wearing: A shirt.

What I'm reading: The ceiling fan. It's fucking hot here, I don't care if it is supposed to snow tomorrow.

What I'm doing after this: Engaging in some kind of Orbach-related activity.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com