powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


12 March 2002 - 8:51 p.m.

And the worst part is, I never learned to read!

Now that my ass has been accepted into grad school, I can move on to bigger and better things. For instance, de Lawd.

If there is one thing my parents did not instill in me, it was a healthy interest in churchgoing. The other day, my mom said we were the most half-assed group of Episcopalians ever. Seeing as how she is the only Episcopalian in my nuclear family, she doesn't even know how half-assed the rest of us are. And I'm not much better at being Catholic than I am at being Epsicopalian, but I'm trying. Not trying very hard, but I'm trying. Is this not a whole diary entry devoted to de Lawd?

Anyhoo, A couple of weeks ago, I decided to give up crafting for Lent. I was informed by some of my friends whose relations with de Lawd are considerably better than mine that this was silly. And anyway, when it comes to making quilts, I have no willpower. So I decided to give up the Beatles instead and stitch away. Yeah, yeah. The point of Lent is to do without something for the whole time. But seeing as how I'm doing without meat on Fridays until May, thanks to my Greek Orthodox boyfriend, I think I'm kind of in good shape. At least I'm doing better than my dad, who hasn't decided what he's giving up yet. Talk about half-assed religion.

Where this got interesting was in Jo-Ann fabrics a few nights ago, when I was looking at the cross-stitch stuff. Gus found me, dragged me into the middle of the store, and started dancing with me.

"What are you doing?" I asked.

"listen to the song," he said. The song was, I believe, "So Happy Together" by the Turtles.

"What about it?" I asked.

Gus paused and listened for a second. "Oh, neve rmind, they were playing 'Can't Buy Me Love' a minute ago."

But I had not heard "Can't Buy Me Love" because the music was not audible in the back corner of the store where the cross-stitching stuff was. This was clearly the work of de Lawd, and I proceeded to tell everyone about it.

"No way was that a sign from God," my mom said. "If God wanted you to quilt instead of hearing the Beatles, why wouldn't He have made you not hear the Beatles in the quilting section?"

"Because they were playing Jefferson Airplane in the quilting section. Stop questioning the wisdom of de Lawd."

But de Lawd is not letting me off that easy, because, wouldn't you know it, Beatlemania is coming to Pittsbrugh next Friday. Next Friday is considerably before Easter. So it doesn't seem quite kosher, if you'll pardon the expression, to go.

And yet, as my dad pointed out, Beatlemania does not equal The Beatles. Listening to a Beatles CD is listening to the Beatles, but seeing the Shitty Beatles live -

"Wait," I said, "how do I know that name?"

"Wayne's World," said Gus.

Oh yeah.

The other thing about de Lawd is that theological arguments always end in somebody inadvertantly quoting Wayne's World... NOT!


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com