powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


30 October 2001 - 5:43 p.m.

A prof by any other name would smell as sweet.

My advisor broke his toe today, by running into an antique chest he and his wife have at the end of their bed. Apparently, this is the second time he has done this. I spent most of our meeting today wanting to cross the boundaries between advisor and advisee with a condescending remark like, "It think it's time to move the chest, Professor McAdvisor." But I refrained, because he's always been very kind to me.

Anyway, I saw him hobbling over toward his office about 15 minutes before our meeting, and asked if he wanted me to come up with him. He said he wanted to look at his toe and told me to take my time. So I got there as scheduled, and he told me that not only was the toe broken, but red and puffy and otherwise really messed up. I asked if he had gone to see anybody about it, and he said "No, they can't really do much with a broken toe except tape it to the next one. I put some Scotch tape on it before you got here."

Oh my God.

Incidentally, Gus thinks that Professor McAdvisor does not go well with my other series of names (McHotHot, McFilmProf), and that I should call him Professor McOldDude. I personally am starting to like Advisor McOldGuy, but that's just me. Gus says the latter sounds like a character from a McDonald's commercial. This is why you shouldn't type your entires whilst sitting on your boyfriend's lap.

Anyway, if you give a rat's ass about what I call my professors, please cast a vote by signing my guestbook, I really rename them for humor, since just about all of them like to be called by their first names, but my advisor's is potentially incriminating, and I need a way to differentiate between the disproportionate number of people I know who are named Dave.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com