powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


26 October 2001 - 1:55 p.m.

It's gonna be a bone-chilling Halloween... again.

Tuesday, it was 75 degrees and sunny. In spite of the fact that it rained all night and was quite windy, Wednesday was also very nice. Temperatures dropped Thursday, but not so much that I couldn't waer a skirt without stockings, even at night.

Today it is snowing.

Winter has arrived in Pittsburgh, just about right on schedule, right on schedule meaning just in time for me to have to wear a cot with my Halloween costume. Grr.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not going trick-or-treating this year (I am almost 22 and do have some pride, thanks) so it's not the fashion "no" it was when I was just a wee thing. In Pittsburgh, by the time you're ten or so, you wise up and start planning your costume around your coat, and go as a die (or any variation on the Big Box Costume - present, TV, etc.} or something that allows for a lot of layers (mummy, scary witch, Nurse Ratchett). But when you're three you just want to be a friggin ballerina, you know?

Going as Princess Peach this year brings back lots of memories of absurdly girly costumes from my childhood. I was even a bride once, how sad is that? Granted, I had been given the ensemble as part of one of those dress-up trunks for Christmas, but what the fuck? A bride isn't like, a thing you get to be for more than a day. And it was warm, which really isn't an excuse for bad feminism, but it made my mom happy. Which reminds me, my mom put so much make-up on me that year. Was it to acknowledge the legal prostitution that including wedding garb in little girls' dress-up boxes was encouraging? Nah. I love my mom, but she's seldom that politcal about cosmetics. Oh well.

Now, the scary nurse from One Flew Over the Cukoo's Nest, that is a costume.

Peach is different, because she was the best character ever in Super Mario Brothers Two. I think it freaking sucks that you can't play her in any game other than Mario Kart and Mario Party, but at least in the new games where you have to rescue her (Paper Mario) she does clever things throughout the game.

And last year, I was a suffragette. Beat that.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com