powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


17 October 2001 - 3:09 p.m.

O what a choad and peasant slave am I.

In honor of the only job that I have ever been offered which may make use of any talent that I may have, I'm giving all of my entries for the next month or so an almost-Shakespearean title.

Because I almost know something about Shakespeare.

No wonder I can't get a job. I am not qualified for anything. I can't even get by on my good looks anymore.

How do I know this?

Yesterday was my college's "Fall Networking Event." The fact that this was the best name my college could give to an event designed for students to meet prospective employers should be telling about the effectiveness of such an event.

Also telling was the fact that everyone's name tag just contained his or her name. No affiliations, companies, or label that would allow us to distinguish grads from undergrads from employers from University staff.

Yeah.

So I stood around and hoped that some vigorous recruiter would notice my friendly posture and welcoming smile. But that did not happen, and I am a tad shy when it comes to introducing myself to people who are just going to laugh at my major. So all I really got to do was feel like an unattractive girl at a school dance, and feel really down on myself for not being able to find a better analogy to use in describing the whole experience.

I'd say that the workforce can kiss my ass, because I'm a writer, but seeing as how I'm neither a terribly good or original writer, or even a red-hot mama, I guess I have to beg the workforce to have my ass in a satchel.

----------------------------------------

True story:

On the way to class this morning, I saw a poster advertising a show that Gus and his improv troupe are doing. Glancing only very quickly at the poster I noticed:

1. The poster was a spoof of the poster forThe Mummy Returns

and

2. The guy in the spot where Brendan Fraser 's head would be was fucking hot.

"Hmm, wonder who the new improv hottie is," I thought to myself. A second later, I was confronted with the same poster. And guess what?

THE HOTTIE WAS GUS!

Yeah, I know, I know. I do not appreciate the man.

Though, now that I think about it, why should I? He has good looks and earning potential.

Grr. Back to square one.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com