powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


2001-08-20 - 2:24 p.m.

Science Fiction Double Feature: "Furniture Re-Arrangers from Martha's Vineyard" and "They Invaded Warner Hall"

Barbara is back from a month's vacation with a vengeance, cracking me the hell up, as usual. Her first day back in the office after a long absence is sometimes as pleasant as a swift kick in the head, but it's 2:30 and so far, so good. Last year, she went on this terrific rampage and decided that it was IMPERATIVE that we move 3 offices worth of furniture into the most inefficient possible formation (water cooler in the doorway, the whole nine yards) in the space of like, 20 minutes. Maybe she remembers that and has decided she could not possibly top herself after that day, so she'd better not even try. Which would explain why she is her usual, charming, laid-back self today. She did give me a shitload of work, which took up my entire morning. That wasn't really a problem, since, as I said, most of it was pretty easy stuff, but it was literally more than I could carry. I wish someone around here kept a digital camera and had snapped a few of me dropping papers and trying to lug all these files around. The whole thing was a good laugh, even for slacker me.

I just discovered a diary of an incoming CMU freshman - Holy small world, Batman! It's good stuff. So maybe I should not complain about the insanely long lines at the computer store, or having to weave through an impatient mob of student-ID seekers on the ground floor of WH - especially since I can appreciate the B-movieness of it all.

I may venture away from my desk to buy some books and school supplies - I am so freaking excited for school to start! There is nothing in the world like a 40-hour work week to make one fall head-over-heels in love with academia all over again. Plus, I think one of my film courses requires a text called "Fast Talking Dames." If that doesn't get me all gung-ho about accquiring books, I have nothing left to live for.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com