powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


2001-08-07 - 10:32 a.m.

Live tadpoles enclosed

Didn't get to write as much as I wanted yesterday, as Da Boss-Lady had me busy with the "seek and destroy" mission that was cleaning Nancy's office. At least, that was her motto for it. Mine was "learn to hide anything that doesn't look too attractive before G gets a chance to throw it away."

I would be lying if I said that the office didn't look a hell of alot better. Still, it's really hard for me to put away my moral issues with going into someone's space and invading it that much. It always bugged the hell out of me when my mother cleaned my bedroom when I was away. I couldn't find anything. Imagine Nancy's surprise when she discovers that part of the reason she can't find jack is that DB-L threw a good portion of it away.

My internet connection was down last night, which means that a lot of what I wanted to accomplish in writing my essay on celebrity death, truth, and George Harrison didn't happen. I always thought those people who claimed they could type faster than they could write were full of crap. When did I become one of them? Who knocked me over the head, dragged me behind a barn, and filled me full of crap? No wonder I'm so behind in my work.

I received an unpleasant surprise yesterday - a package containing live tadpoles. Apparently, these were meant for Ben (my boss' son), and were supposed to have arrived in April, for Ben's birthday. So now I am raising frogs. Ugh. Not that I have a problem with frogs in nature - just as pets. Why invest all that time and energy into something you can't pet, hug, or sleep with? Gus pointed out that I could do all those things, if I wanted to, with the frogs. Thank you, no. If I could, I'd release them into the wild. But then, Ben would have no frogs to come home to. And I like him to much to free his frogs.

That's the funny thing about life - you can't just start expecting things from your job. Remember the shoemaker and the elves? He thought he was hopelessly doomed to suck, and then he got some help. And the reverse can happen, too - just when you think housesitting is the best gig ever, you get a package that says "Live tadpoles enclosed."


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com