powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


22 April 2002 - 8:04 p.m.

She who is immature must take the stairs.

Today, someone who doesn't like me, and, is consequently hella-bitchy, almost stepped into an elevator with me, then tookone look at me and ran toward the stairs as if in terror.

Yeah, she better run!

Carnival came and went. There were booths with games. There was a high-tech, three-day, early-morning soapbox derby. There was a musical about mob wives. Carnival is a weird time, but it was a carnival, so I won't complain. Even though I did talk to everyone I had dated here in the space of about three hours. Just another of those weird Carnival phenomena, I guess.

If any of you have heard that Patrick Swayze song, "She's Like the Wind," on the radio within the past year, please sign my guestbook. I am on a need-to-know basis.

Last night, Gus must have gotten fed up with listening to me claim that I would get so much more work done if I could type my assignments while in bed, and dragged the futon up against my desk, at which point I was forced to make good on that promise. Well, let me tell you, I turned out to be quite dilligent when given the opportunity to be really friggin' lazy. My thesis is officially written and revised. I still have several days of hardcore copy editing, but I am happy to report that my bad piece of crap is now a mediocre piece of crap. Go me.

Did anyone else notice that it was "Be Really Honest to Jenn" Day? Today at work, KTT's boss decide to be honest and explain that while kids are the best thing that ever happens to a parent, they also ruin your life. Just as I suspected! And then Prof. McHotHot said he was talking to a friend of his who said of her graduate school experience with literary theory: "The famous professor would come,and read some theory, and answer every possible question about the text except for maybe one. She said he would unleash the beast, and beat it till it was maimed and dismembered and barely breathing, and then give the students the club and let them take the final blow -- that's a little bit of a weird metaphor, isn't it?" he asked, turning to me. I nodded. "Grad school is tough," he added, seemingly out of nowhere. Um... thanks? Also as I suspected, but I guess that maimed animal metaphor was meant to really hit it home for me.

This girl behind me in the library just said, "I like bigger classes rather than smaller classes because in small classes, you like, get called on a lot." You'd think the value of education couldn't possibly escape people who pay roughly 30 grand a year to get one, but somone proves me wrong just about every day.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com