powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


21 June 2002 - 10:58 a.m.

T-shirts, doctors, and people who play cops and lawyers on TV.

What an odd morning. I've spent the last two hours popping out of bed abruptly to do something, then finding myself back in bed dreaming about playing the piano. Have I been sleepwalking since 9 a.m.? Am I narcoleptic? Or insomniac? You decide.

I don't know how I managed not to find time for an entry yesterday, but between lesson plans, making dinner, and attending my first staff meeting, there was little to say. Except I found out at my staff meeting that we'll have t-shirts, one blue, one hunter green. "Excuse me," I said, trying not to appear too Lovey Howell in attitude, "is that.... what we wear?"

And wouldn't you know, it is? Oh. Fucking. Hooray.

I'm not really a t-shirt person. For one thing, the only ones that ever even look the tiniest bit cute on me are from the little girls' department, which suits me fine because I'm happy to wear Hello Kitty shirts from Target. But t-shirts just don't go with my arms. I have very slender arms in most outfits, in t-shirts, my arms make me look malnourished. Try to imagine Grace Kelly in an oversized t-shirt. See? There's a reason she always wore Edith Head chiffon gowns

But enough whining about t-shirts, I'm going to whine about somethign else. Watching All That Jazz last night reminded me that I need to go to the doctor soon in order to get my physical for my permit. This is a bit difficult because I don't have a doctor per se. I saw my pediatrician through college because he said that would be fine as long as I also saw a gynecologist - fine with him, naturally, not knowing the joy of stirrups. Well, there is just no way I'm going back to my pediatrician. For one thing, I can't strip down in front of all those pictures of babies. For another, unless the doctor-patient relationship is like uber-specialized and professional (i.e. a physician for women 20-25 or something), I have a hard time stripping down for anyone who isn't 1.) also nude and preferably hot, and 2.) really grateful.

Speaking of All That Jazz, should a film with that title not at least include the song "All That Jazz?" As much as I almost considered being entertained by Ben Vereen and Roy Sheider's epic rendition of "Bye, Bye, Love," I was disappointed that Mr. Kander and Mr. Ebb were represented not at all. But then, I guess if that's what I want to see, I should go see Chicago, which is coming out this year, and which would be far more exciting if Richard Gere were not playing Billy Flynn. Sorry, I know that like, 10 whole women still think he's a hottie, but can he even sing? He's not remotely right for the role. I wish Peter Gallgher or Chris Noth would do it, in fact, since the role was originally played by Jerry Orbach, I think the movie should most definitely star Chris Noth. In fact, I think there should be some kind of edict dictating that every revival or film version of the musical Chicago should include a minimum of one (1) featured performer that also starred in Law and Order.

The scary thing is is, it would work almost too well.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com