powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


22 April 2004 - 11:34 p.m.

COVERED IN PETS!

A lot of people keep asking me about my wedding gift registries. Like, specifically, what stuff that's NOT on it do I want.

I probably don't have to tell you why that question pretty much defeats the purpose of registering for gifts.

In honor of me getting married in 86 days (85 in about 20 minutes), I'm making a list of the top 10 things I would like to receive off Gus' and my gift registry.

Please note that this is not a solicitation for gifts. I am just assuming that everybody who reads this is as nosy as I am about what people want in their homes. And a lot of people tend to think registries are impersonal. Well, anybody who doesn't think that this is me can just go to somebody else's wedding for all I care.

Please also note that I'm not including any already-purchased gifts, because I don't want to appear to be playing favorites among folks who have sent gifts early. (Although, Max, I will say that I have been wanting a cake stand since I was about 12, so many thanks.)

So without further ado:

10 Things I Think Might Make My Grown-Up Life More Swell, by jpellecchia:

1. A Cats and Dogs Shower Curtain. Some people have questioned the practicality of this gift. Clearly, these same people have enver showered without a shower curtain. Granted, it's covered in pets. "I like my coffee like I like my women! Covered in...." Oh, fuck it. Movng on to

2. Glasses. I am so fucking picky about what I drink out of. It has to feel just right in my hand. These feel right.

3. A Fiestaware Utensil Crock. This is like a cross between pink Fiestaware and a mint julep cup. It is also like a cross between something I want to French kiss and name my firstborn child after.

4. A potato ricer. The ideal wedding gift will always bring the couple one step closer to gnocchi.

5. An iron. I don't know how Gus has gotten along wihtout one for so long, but my preppy ass requires creased pants!

6. A toaster. This one is self-explanatory.

7. A French press. You'll note we have a real dearth of breakfast technology. I'm looking to change that. Oh, and to stop giving money to Starbucks.

8. A teeny tiny crockpot for serving dip in. I'm obsessed with tiny crockpots. Actually, all crockpots, but I have a regular one already. I love this one because it incorporates two of my favorite things: party food and mid-century inspired technology.

9. Misto! I guess I could calculate how much we would save on Pam if somebody bought us Misto, but I would probably get the answer wrong. Let's just pick a random number, say, 3000. Misto would save Gus and me $3000 over the course of 30 years if we didn't have to buy Pam. (I don't know why the idea of saving money on Pam is making me crack up. I am literally laughing audibly at the idea of avoiding $3000 worth of Pam. I think it might be time to wrap up this entry and go to bed.)

10. Towels! No link required. You can't live without towels. Actually, Gus and I are doing close to just that. And that's why we never have people over any more.

G'night!


What I'm wearing: Pink dress.

What I'm reading: RHW's _Horror Films_.

What I'm doing after this: Brushing my teeth.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com