powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


10 September 2001 - 2:42 p.m.

A note on my drunkenness, I am Hermione, and Hatbox needs a Daddy

First, a note on my drunkennes: When I am very drunk, I can't sit up. let alone type. So I wasn't terribly drunk when I wrote my last entry, when I emailed some of you, or when I misqoted Queen in many of your guestbooks. I was merely at the stage of drunkennes when everything was so incredibly funny, particularly my lack of typing skills. You know those people who like to phone others when drunk? Well, I am the Computer U version of one of those, I guess.

I finally saw Harry Potter last night, and I have to agree with the general consensus: I am Hermione Granger.

This is not something I was willing to admit immediately after having seen the film. However, while eating a post-film dinner, I offered no less than three critical interpretations of Casablanca. Today I found probably 50 books I want to read in the library, all nonfiction, and checked out 5. And last night, I had this absurd (absurd in hindsight, that is) AIM conversation with my boyfriend's mom, which I will condense and try to repllcate here:

TimeWarp##: hi! this is jenn.

Gus'Mom: hi! i never would have guessed that was your screen name.

TimeWarp##: it's from the rocky horror picture show.

(other pleasantries, requisite what did you think of the HP movie, etc.)

Gus'Mom: congratulations on Harvey. it's the weekend after jim's play so i may be able to come and see it. gus didn't tell me who you either of you were cast as, but i saw the play so long ago it probably wouldn't mean anything to me.

TimeWarp##: gus is wilson, the burly guy, and i'm the nurse. i hear jim is in the crucible.

Gus'Mom: yeah, he's the main guy, whose name i can't remember.

TimeWarp##: john proctor. he's a puritan.

Gus'Mom: i think i'll go to bed now.

I might as well have been typing in a British accent. Not that I plan to stop being fucking obnoxious. It'll just be more accepted in grad school.

When I got home a little while ago, I picked up the Pittsburgh City Paper, and started looking through it. For whatever reason, I left it open to a big spread of ads for jewelry stores, and, of course, most of the ads feature diamond solitaires.

Now, when this caught my eye, it occured to me that I should close/clean up/throw away the paper, because Gus is going to be here soon, and I am not prepared to look like one of those silly chicks who leaves pictures of engagement rings lying around, as if their boyfriends would have proposed by now if the idea had ever occurred to them, thanks to a not-so-gentle hint. Like this big spread of solitaires. But as soon as I moved to pick up the paper, Hatbox threw herself down on it, started rolling around, and giving herself a little kitty bath. I have since tried three times to get rid of the paper, but every time, she throws herself down and refuses to budge.

I've come to the conclusion that Hatbox wants Gus to see this. I think it is her hint to him that she is tired of being a bastard. Every now and then, she growls when he knocks on my door. In her own, passive agressive way, I think she is saying, "I'm tired of this crap! Do you know how hard it is being an illigitimate pet? If that SOB doesn't come in here with a ring this time, I'm gonna load up the shotgun!"

Maybe now would be a good time to tell her she's adopted.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com