powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


28 November 2001 - 11:21 p.m.

Addendum to like, 2 entries ago.

Remember my list of songs I wanted to put in movies?

One song that didn't make the final cut was John Lennon's "Watching the Wheels," mostly because I figured someone had already put it in some sad, ironic, but funny Wonder Boys-y kinda flick.

Wouldn't you know the next day, Wonder Boys was on TV. And guess what song they played? Yup, you guessed it. In the car, about 3-5 minutes before Grady says "It's the kind of house you'd like to wake up in on Christmas morning." What better song to precede that line. The only unfortunate thing is that it couldn't play behind that line, seeing as how it only fits in "I'm in the car thinking really profound things even though I should be paying attention to oncoming traffic" scenes.

It's the kind of song you can't even sing along with.... I'm a writer.

Since most of the people who read this all have semi-interesting "making of Wonder Boys" stories of thier own, I won't get into any of mine, particualrly because I'm bitter that I never got to meet Frances MacDormond while she was on campus. However, I did get to meet the guy who Michael Douglas' character was based on. He was at a department end-of-the-year party at which I was "tending bar" (I was sort of just pouring wine for my profs and thier spouses/partners, including Proffie McHotHot's horse-looking then girlfriend, and the guy who wrote The Hours.) I had to venture into the back yard and offer people wine, and some girl told me she liked my Hello Kitty sandals. Then, when I offered him a refill, Wonder Boys Guy (what the other bartender and I called him; our prof/hostess called him The Lush) said, "I like your shoes, too. They're cool," in one of the thickest Pittsburgh accents I've heard in a long time. I'm really glad he didn't play himself in the movie.

I don't really know why Wonder Boys Guy was at Prof. Hostess' party. I guess he's kind of a quasi-celebrity now, or was two years ago. I mean, I'd invite Wonder Boys Guy if it was BYOB. Well, maybe not if I could get Michael Douglas. Michael Douglas is pretty nice, and his accent doesn't offend my ears. But I'd probably do better with the local celebrities, just as Prof. Hostess did.

Or maybe he just wanted free wine. He certainly drank enough of it.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com