powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


06 February 2040 - 7:13 p.m.

Top Ten Songs I Want to Use in a Movie Some Day

10. "Papa Loves Mambo," by Perry Como. Everyone knows it's my favorite song. It deserves better than a Hanes commercial.

9. "I'm Beginning to See the Light," by Bobby Darin. I know, I know, it's already on the Swingers soundtrack, but it's played during the end credits. What's up with that?

8. Anything by Belle and Sebastian. Provided I ever accquire some edge. Which I won't, but this is my Movie Soundtrack Fantasy, not my Movie Sountrack Contigent Upon My Aquisition of Some Edge Fantasy, so whatever. Belle and Sebastian were just barely included in High Fidelity, and somebody has got to make up for the error.

7. "Lover," written by Rodgers and Hart, and probably sung by one/several of my characters. Why does no one know "Lover?" It is such a good song. It should be like, the most famous song ever.

6. "Dreamer's Ball," by Queen. Not only do I love this tune, I love the title and would totally use it as a screenplay title.

5. "Badge," by Cream. This song always struck me a being cinematic, even though it definitely does not fit with the whole Woody Allen jazz/standard thing I usually have going on.

4. "I Thought About You," Frank Sinatra. Good for a travel montage, methinks. It's upbeat, so it doesn't hit you over the head with (the nonetheless present) longing.

3. "Killer Queen," by Queen. Did you see Branaugh's Love's Labour's Lost? Imagine the ladies singing this song - same lyrics, same arrangement as Freddie Mercury's. That's what I want.

2. "Honey Pie," by the Beatles. I have always, always, probably since I was in like, tenth grade, wanted to use "Honey Pie," for what I do not know. More than likely, I'll have to write a script around Honey Pie, but I can deal with that.

1. "Slaughter on Tenth Avenue," written by Richard Rodgers. This is great stuff; I heartily recommend either downloading an mp3, or checking out the sexy, sexy jazz ballet that is featured in Words and Music. I wouldn't want to include the number as written (short ballet about jealous behemian types), but as narrative-type music to a 10-minute party sequence. Yeah.

Notice that I am apparently writing this entry in 2040. That's really ok, considering that by the time I'm 60, I may very well get to decide what songs go into the movies I write. I'm not sure why that has to happen at 7:13 PM, when it's only 4:00 now, but I won't complain.

Correction: Swingtime, as written in yesterday's entry, should have apeared as Swing Time. We at The Jenniors apologize for any undue stress we may have placed on the makers of Swing Time, all of whom are undoubtedly dead.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com