powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


2001-06-19 - 12:25 a.m.

i'm looking for pound notes, loose change, bad checks, anything

Another night in diaryland, another summer day come and gone. Once again, I had hours and hours of free time at work, all of which were spent looking at wedding websites. Don't ask me why; every time I am reminded of how much time and effort is involved in planning one of those shindigs, it reminds me of how terrified I am of gilt invitations and tulle. Which is not to say I'm afraid of marriage. On the contrary, I bet it's great. I just don't think I'll be able to make it through the party.

Perhaps all of my quasi-research will make it into an essay someday, which I'll start 5 days before the entire mofo is due, along with some meditations on other stuff I know nothing about, like motherhood and backgammon. Until then, this thesis is not writing itself. Sigh. I'll have my work cut out for me when classes start. Though I guess it's been said that too much work is a better motivational force than too little work, and I'm willing to bet that it's been said by people in a parallel universe who have my job.

Not that I should complain too much. After all, I am getting paid. Not a lot, but enough, finally. I've decided once again not to pay my phone bill this month, simply because I missed the deadline, and might as well just wait until more charges get tacked on. The really exciting thing is that, after payday this Friday, I'll have worked up enough dough to pay my April/May rent and still live for a couple of weeks (or maybe less, depending on whether or not the University decides to cough up the $700 its owed me for two months.)

I feel so skeezy about not paying my phone bill, particularly when Verizon's not going to disconnect my phone. On the other hand, i have a sort of personal obligation to Barbara that I don't have to anybody at Verizon, so they can just sit tight for a few more weeks.

Coming soon: A list of stuff I can't afford.


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com