powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
rings


2001-05-22 - 5:51 p.m.

the letter

Today the weather went from gloomy to bad to awful, the most inclement point naturally starting at 4:30 and ending at 5:30 in order to ensure that I could not make it home from work without becoming totally drenched.

As I inched around the lake-sized puddle in the driveway that stood between me and the path to my door, I noticed a white envelope peeking out of my mailbox. It appeared to be legal-sized, and was adorned with the latest version of the ubiquitious LOVE stamp. (For those of you who haven't seen it, think light brown on parchment for that ancient love letter look, black caps, and a long-stemmed rose creeping up, it's perfect red bud making up the letter "O." It's darling. Really.)

At first glance, I thought it was a letter from my Grandmother, though the size struck me as odd - she typically sends those smallish note cards that fall out of the Current catalogue every month, or, for holidays, greeting cards obviously meant for grandchildren much younger than myself in gaudy envelopes. But how could I be sure of the size? A good deal of the late-May downpour was beading up on my glasses, and my mailbox, which fell off the side of the garage months ago, was undoubtedly flooded. Perhaps it was a 3x5 greeting after all, floating near the mailbox's iron mouth.

What was it? I shall have to reveal it later, as I am wanted at my boyfriend's apartment. Not to seem like an antifeminist or anything - he's actually taking me to dinner at McDonald's so he can buy me a Hello Kitty toy. And I'm damn hungry. Tune in next time to... the Jennoirs...


What I'm wearing:

What I'm reading:

What I'm doing after this:


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

- - 07 May 2005

Wheee! - 02 November 2004

Inside of my fridge. - 28 October 2004

TV is Stupid. - 24 September 2004

"The only paperback writer who would drive a Buick is like, Tom Clancy." -Gus - 20 September 2004

hatboxmcsneezy got their NeoPet at http://www.neopets.com